Why are “playdates” just for children?

I asked myself this question after reading the newest post on a great website that my father turned me on to . . .thanks, Dad!  You must check it out  http://www.happiness-project.com

The author, Gretchen Rubin, wrote a book about a year-long project in which she researched, pondered and questioned thousands of sources about what it meant to be happy.  Personally, I think we all should take such a hiatus.  The book, The Happiness Project (also the name of her site) is now on the NY Times #1 Bestseller list.

The current post is entitled “Schedule Time For Play.”  I like it, actually, I really like it!  In fact, just last night, I was talking to my husband, Jeff, about how we needed to schedule date nights.  The conversation seemed so strange to me in some ways, because we live in the same house and for most working couples, we do spend quite a bit of time together.  The fact is, however, we do not have a whole lot of “quality” time.  Most of our conversations are interrupted by a very enthusiastic 2-year-old who just cannot fathom how anyone would want to hold a conversation that is not entirely focused on and directed towards her.  Those of you with children know exactly what I’m talking about!

Anyway, as Rubin points out, we do live in a time where if we don’t schedule things, they just don’t get done.  A bit sad, but true, so let’s embrace the time we are in, at least that’s how I feel.

One of my favorite parts of Rubin’s recent post is, “[a] reason to schedule time for play is that once you’ve scheduled it, you can look forward to it. Anticipation is one of the four stages of enjoying a happy event (anticipation, reveling, expression, and reflection), and one way to get more happiness bang for the buck is eagerly to anticipate something fun.”

This is what I told Jeff in our conversation about date nights.  Now,  if I can marry my “play time” with “hubby time,” well, now that IS something to look forward to!

Happy Reading!

8 Responses to “Why are “playdates” just for children?”

  1. Terrill Says:

    So cool to see you have a blog! I totally appreciate your post and have been working on my “play-ethic” for years

    • bwell4life Says:

      Thanks, T! I’ve been wanting to roll on this for awhile. I’m building a website too. It’ll be a “go-to” spot for great health and wellness related information. As we’ve discussed before, there are a lot of people looking for good info with merit. I’m always finding great stuff that I want to pass on. Now, I can do that. I will keep you posted. In the meantime, thanks for reading and keep those comments coming. Much love and kudos on the “play-ethic!”

  2. Fran Katcef Says:

    Let’s hear it for date nites! Thursday nites are generally our “date” nite , and I definitely look forward to it.

    I think it’s so important and really good bonding time.

    • bwell4life Says:

      Yes, I’m a bit new at this date night thing. I guess it comes from being a newlywed. Are you still considered that after a mere 4.5 years of marriage?

  3. Susan Henson Says:

    I love this!!…albeit, I’m sure it is not embraced by much of the heart-attack…I mean workaholic crowd.

    We, so many times subscribe to “keeping up with the Jones'” that if “they” are not playing, or taking naps, or meditating, (or exercising or eating right, for crying out loud!) we excuse ourselves, as well–and many times out of guilt.

    Thanks for the reminder, Traci; and I look forward to “playing” with you, Jeff and Madi real soon! ~Susan

    • bwell4life Says:

      Oh, I love your additional comments, Susan! I do have to say I enjoy a bit less of the “keeping up with the Joneses” that I notice these days . . . or maybe it’s just me. People are beginning to embrace the “at my speed” ethic, and it’s VERY refreshing. I’m I the only one seeing this? Maybe it comes from living in a town like Pittsboro! ( :

  4. MBW Says:

    You always have good advise. So glad to see you are putting positivity out there for all of us to enjoy. Keep up the good work sis. I’m proud of you!!!

    -Mark

    • bwell4life Says:

      Hey, thanks bro! I’m learning so much every day. It’s exciting what’s going on out there. Good people sharing really great advice. I’m happy to be a part of the community! Thanks for reading and let me know if you want to see info on something. I’m in research mode! ( : Love ya!

Leave a Reply

